An Apology From Your Child’s Former Teacher

An Apology From Your Child's Former Teacher.

That blog was written by someone else and I am just sharing it.

My take on it…

A friend shared this with me and I was so happy to read this. The parent she describes is me. My son has AUTISM, he is non-verbal and every day I have to drop him off at school my heart stays with him. They don’t get it. They don’t understand that I am his ears, eyes and VOICE! That it’s not being paranoid, that he is MY SON! My life! I’ve always said that the only way they would understand is if they were in my shoes. They may be parents, they may have relatives with AUTISM but they don’t get it. They can’t understand why I say the things I say, why I act the way I do, why I respond the way I do and why I inquire about the things I do. My son has been lost at his school. 3 schools as a matter of fact. The one he is currently in lost him and had no clue he was missing until the person that found him called the school to let them know. I found him before they even knew he was missing. Barefoot and in the arms of a stranger. I blogged about it but have kept it private for a year because I wanted to see if I could move past this since they assigned him someone to shadow his every move and she was doing great.

We are back to square one as his shadow, whom was great with him had to be removed from her position for many reasons. As far as the teacher is concerned she is the victim because I recently brought up the fact that he had been lost. Communication ALSO KNOWN AS THE KEY TO ALL THIS is limited as she claims not to feel comfortable because I brought this up a few weeks ago. SHE SHOULDN’T FEEL COMFORTABLE. COMFORTABLE IS WHAT made her lose my son. She won’t get it though. She’s the victim here as far as she is concerned.

I’m glad someone got it though. I’m glad someone understands. It only took for this teacher to walk in my shoes to understand what it feels like to have a beautiful son like mine that depends on ME to protect him from an otherwise DANGEROUS world.

YOU LOST MY PRECIOUS SON! I found him in the arms of a stranger!.

4 thoughts on “An Apology From Your Child’s Former Teacher

  1. I worked with autistic kids while getting my teacher certification, back in the 90s. There was one kid I particularly remember, because he was so quiet, so in his own world, even among a group with similar traits. One morning I sat next to him, and we were working on some basic skill — something with counting and putting parts together — and he recited an entire argument between his parents. It was monotone, and it kind of ran together, but you could tell that in his way, he had absorbed it, and was trying to process it. It was a moving experience, and it helped me understand that not everyone pays attention in the same way, that just because someone is not looking at you does not mean they are not absorbing something from you.

    • Exactly. Just because the child seems unaware of his/her sorroundings does not mean they don’t know what is going on. They just process things differently. I struggled for many years telling teachers, tutors, therapists, that my son was teachable, that he understood a lot more than he led on. He understood more than he was being given credit for, that he had potential only to have them run the same programs they ran with every other child over and over and over. When he’d start to self injure they would state that he was none compliant. Well if you had to do something X amount of times and every day the same thing… you’d be LIVID too. But no, he’s “Autistic” so that can’t possibly be it. I know repetition is key, I relentlessly tell him to pick up his shoes, socks, use a fork/spoon, etc. because I know he can do it and there is a functional purpose to my requests. Doing the same puzzle or matching the same things every day for months and using the explanation that “this will transfer on to other things” makes no sense to me and I’m guessing it makes no sense to him either. He is not a robot, he is a kid (MY KID!) and needs to be treated as such. Make it fun, make it interesting, challenge him a little. HE WILL LEARN. He has feelings, I see them. I am by no means in any kind of denial. My son will always have Autism but he is going to be the best he can be, I’ll make sure of that. I see my son exactly the way he is and that is why I know he has potential.

Leave a Reply

