I gotta be…

When this song came out in 1994 I remember thinking it was the most empowering song ever. I ran out and purchased the single “cassette” and I played it every morning. My mom had died that year and I needed any strength I could find from any source and this song helped. I never imagined it would turn into my anthem for life. Having a son with Autism has done many things in my life. It has made me feel scared, helpless, frazzled, angry, faithful, hopeful, strong, weak and much more. This song pretty much covers everything I “gotta be” to move on in life. My family is a blessing but Autism isn’t easy and I know this journey is one I want to travel and learn from. It is one that I want to travel with my head up and a strong mind. I know I will. I also know that I will have my very weak moments where I will question everything and that is ok too. I will never stand there and allow anyone to judge me for it either as nobody knows what walking in these shoes is like. If you stick around I am willing to show you the up’s and the down’s and you are welcome to comment but always remembering that I am a human being sharing with you to show you what it’s like and that I will not tolerate anything less than respect.

Listen, enjoy, make it yours if you need to…

2 thoughts on “I gotta be…

  1. Thanks for sharing. This uplifting song is one of my favorites that I listen to during tumultuous times or when I think my life is too challenging. Life is a journey full of obstacles which is the basic nature of our human experiences and existence. As they say – only the strong survive. We thrive to fufill our purpose which, in turn, creates a spiritual awareness – then and only then will we attain our inner peace. Stay Strong!

    Interestingly enough this song uplifts us all because we all Gotta Be!

  2. I wanted to thanks to your time for this excellent read!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

Leave a Reply

