I WON’T GIVE UP!

Today when listening to music this song came on and I love it. I love all 3 of my children but my middle son has gifted me a journey so far I never imagined and nevertheless think I could walk. He has pretty hard core Autism. I intend to walk this journey til’ the day God decides to make this body rest in PIECES! (because I know that by then my body will be torn up due to the superhuman things it has to do.)  🙂

So this song goes to my beautiful 11-year-old Angel

Here are the lyrics.

“I Won’t Give Up”

By: Jason Mraz

Hmmmm … Hmmmm … Hmmmm … Hmmm …When I look into your eyes
It’s like watching the night sky
Or a beautiful sunrise
There’s so much they hold
And just like them old stars
I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul?I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

And when you’re needing your space
To do some navigating
I’ll be here patiently waiting
To see what you find

‘Cause even the stars they burn
Some even fall to the earth
We’ve got a lot to learn
God knows we’re worth it
No, I won’t give up

I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make
Our differences they do a lot to teach us how to use
The tools and gifts we got yeah, we got a lot at stake
And in the end, you’re still my friend (I’d change it to son)
at least we did intend
For us to work we didn’t break, we didn’t burn
We had to learn how to bend without the world caving in
I had to learn what I’ve got, and what I’m not
And who I am

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up
Still looking up.

I won’t give up on us (no I’m not giving up)
God knows I’m tough enough (I am tough, I am loved)
We’ve got a lot to learn (we’re alive, we are loved)
God knows we’re worth it (and we’re worth it)

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

14 thoughts on “I WON’T GIVE UP!

  1. Pingback: Pretty positive person

    • Thank you so much! I will check that out. I have received nominations and I just don’t know how to go about it. Very cool of you and I will see to it that I go about it right this time. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I Won’t Give Up « The Curse Of The Single Parent

  3. You are a beautiful person. I have worked with autistic children and my own niece (now nephew) had been diagnosed with autism, or Asperger’s or who knows… No one ever put their finger right on it. He is graduating from a California University.
    I found that the young man who had severe autism, responded exceptionally well to nature, and the natural world.
    Keep on, keeping on.

    • Thank you sohojay! Although I wasn’t the one that wrote this song I am making it mine because the words are perfect for my life with my son. 🙂

  4. Hi Betty,
    It has been a long time and I understand. I, too, feel your pain and determination. My friend and roommate, Mary, had me listen to this song and since I have also had tough times with both of my boys, I dedicated this song to them both on Mother’s Day on my blog. The difference between you and I is that I was a part of the problem I had with my children. I have had to admit some very hard truths, do a lot of work on myself, and last year, I finally had to separate myself from them. They live in Oregon still and I now live in Pennsylvania while attending Penn State. My oldest, 20, is going into Job Corps next month and my youngest, 15, is doing much better and working on getting his driver’s permit. I miss them both almost desperately and they do miss me too. My youngest will come visit me over Christmas break and my oldest and I have plans to travel together once we both obtain our education. It has been a long time coming, but life is looking up for us. I believe with all of my heart that you and your precious boy will get through and overcome the darkest days and find peace and happiness together in your futures. I will keep you all in my prayers and please know, you and your blog have truly been an inspiration and a strength to me. Thank you!
    -Cindy

    • Hi Cindy!
      Thank you very much for your very kind words and your honesty. I really appreciate them from the bottom of my heart. I will keep you and your family in my prayers too. It takes a strong woman to know what is the right thing to do in HER life (although I’m sure it was not easy at all) so that everyone around her can thrive. I am very happy that because you did what you felt you had to do… your children love you, miss you and that you will soon get to see them and travel with your oldest. Take care! (((HUGS)))

  5. Wow!! This song is so beautiful!! Tu hijos tienen una madre excepcional Bendiciones! Betti you inspired me!!

    • Waleska, thank you for stopping by my blog! 🙂 This song is really beautiful indeed. Gracias por tus palabras tan lindas!! God bless you ALWAYS! XOXO

Leave a Reply

